reply

Posted

print

favorite this post Home School Tutoring - All levels (Wyoming) hide this posting unhide

Pre-k -- 6 all subjects
7-12 specialties in Language Arts and Mathematics

I graduated in 2011 from Northern Michigan University with a degree in Elementary Education, double minors in Language Arts and Mathematics. I have tutored children as young as preschool, as old as college.

For the younger students, I use a creative approach when tutoring. We play games, use music, and take field trips to parks to create obstacle courses that are themed with our lessons. I use hands on activities and crafts to help make learning tangible and not just groupings of words and numbers in a book. I am well educated in different learning styles and will find a theme that can be used to generate interest in learning, be it sharks, dinosaurs, robots, dragons, or flowers.

With older students, I use wit and relate well to them, making them eager to work with me. Though I'm in my early 30s, I seem younger with a youthful air about me and a witty personality that makes teens feel like they are working with a pal rather than a boring old teacher.

I have been working with children for more than ten years. I have experience tutoring one-on-one and small groups as well as working in large classroom settings. I have found that by creating a theme that follows a child's interest, I can drastically improve the quality of learning for even the most stubborn of students.

For home school sessions, I still have openings on Thursday mornings. If you can't fit into my open slots, I can try to arrange to tutor at your home or somewhere else on the weekends, however for weekend or home tutoring I require sessions to be 2 hours and if travel is more than 10 miles, the hourly rate increases by $5. Unfortunately at this time, all of my after school sessions are filled.
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 5968247681

posted:

updated:

best of [?]